An Angry Anorexic.

I said it last night and I’ll say it again, as it can never be overstated not repeated enough to be adequately understood.
Eating disorders are not a joke. They are diagnosable mental illnesses that require extreme levels of both medical and psychological treatment. They are devastatingly painful and excruciatingly consuming. They enter into lives just as quickly as they can take them away.
I have never been so angry in my life as I am now. And that is because I have encountered an individual who treats eating disorders flippantly. They are not ever “in style”. They are not “the latest trend”. They are not like items of clothing or makeup, meant to be tried on and worn at one’s choosing. They are not arbitrary. And what infuriates me is to see someone purposely putting on an act; someone purposely faking a sickness, in order to receive attention in some sick, twisted way. This is not only demeaning and cruel, but it’s also disgusting and makes light of a matter that is truly life or death.
If you don’t understand me or my disorder and how it impacts every facet of my life, that’s one thing. But if you go out of your way with intent to make a mockery out of what’s torn me apart and broken me down, you had better believe that that lights a fire inside me. I refuse to be brought down to the level of someone so disturbed. And I wish anyone who might consider the same revolting behavior the best of luck with the life they are so callously throwing away. I’m making every effort to keep mine worth living. Much love ❤️

5 thoughts on “An Angry Anorexic.

  1. You have every right to be angry. Your beautiful and have tough me a lot about an illness I’m thankful isn’t on my list. I do get Pissed when I hear my daughter talk about how fat she is and she’s almost 12. She is actually underweight and it terrifies me. The peer pressure to look perfect is awful. My medications have cause me to gain 20+ pounds. I have horrible body issues that lead to serious depression and health anxiety. I also hate when I see girls friends like me joke how they are going the become anorexic or bulimic then quickly drop the pounds by not eating only encourages a vicious cycle. You are strong and beautiful. I definitely going to direct my daughter to your blog and some others. She needs to hear honesty. I’m terrified because of my crazy genetics she’ll fall easily into social pressures. Thank you

    Like

  2. There are ignorant people who won’t understand your journey Emma. Fuck ’em. They’re not fooling anyone. We all see right through their bullshit!!
    (((HUGS HUGS and more HUGS)))

    Like

  3. You don’t know me but i have been following you and well I have suffered with anorexia for 21 years been in and out of inaptient treatment and hospitals and been near death. I understand your struggle and read your words and could write them myself the thoughts and feelings of anorexia it takes every part of your life and to think some people do not take it seriously it is not a game i have lost multiple friends including my best friend to this disease it is not a joke.

    Like

Leave a Reply

