Just When

Just when I start to adjust to normalcy again
The whispers in my head make me acquiesce instead
Painting my vision bright red crimsons, stark black inks
That perforate my lines of sight until my sense is lacking
Just when I start to feel content with myself once more
The devil on my shoulder nears close like before
With a warning that he hisses loudly into my ear
A menacing confirmation of all my worst fears
Just when I start to breathe in and out deeply
Death emerges from his throne to trap and keep me
A tall hooded figure cloaked in ruin and demise
Come to tear apart my fragile heart and steal my eyes
Just when I start learning to see myself as a friend
Is when the monsters reach out to draw me into their den
My fight is gone and my spirit is broken in fragments
My happiness is lost and my hope is growing stagnant
Just when I start to believe
Always then, it comes for me.

One thought on “Just When

Leave a Reply

