Embers

Cloudy skies up above

Busy streets down below

People heading to destinations

Where and when I do not know

Anxiety in my mind

Self loathing in my heart

Slowly but surely this disease

Is simply tearing me apart

Tearstains upon my cheeks

Spirit crushed into bits

The fire that burned in me

Has long since ceased being lit

Hope flickers on the fringes

Sadness extinguishes it all

It seems the only place to go

Is down in a unending fall

Cloudy skies up above

Busy streets down below

I truly wonder when it was

I let my love for myself go

Leave a Reply

