Beauty

they say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder

but what if I’m beholden to and held by no one?

they say that inner beauty radiates far further than outer

but what if I’m too swallowed by shadows to see the sun?

they say that we’re all perfectly imperfect just the way we are

but I know this is just society’s lying facade

for if it were true there wouldn’t exist such pain 

trying to fit in to a world with which you’re at such odds

they promised me the moon and the stars and the sky

though not one of these things I’ve received 

for how can you really promise the intangible 

even though it’s a beautiful thing to believe?

they say that love comes to everyone in some shape or form 

but what if those letters convolute in my case?

it’s a blasphemous thing to cling on to a hope

that with luck someday you’ll find your place

they say that everything will always be okay in the end

otherwise a true closing must not be near 

but how can this be when all I feel is sadness

and an indescribable numbing fear?

they say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder

but what if I’m not holding on to anything?

my world has turned to a palette of greys

and I’m a ship at sea destined to sink.

Leave a Reply

