Stepping Stones

the crystal river surges with violence and rage around bends and twists and turns

roaring like a lion and frothing as if with all of Poseidon’s mythological fury

and I am afraid

I know that I must bridge this gap to continue my endeavor but I know not how or why

and my hopes are frayed

Were I only a bird that did not have broken wings or a fragile soul and knew how to fly

a decision to be made

Were I only courageous and bright with the indelible strength to pass this obstacle by

for a moment I’m brave

the movement is hesitant yet forward with trepidation of excruciating hurt

shaking like a leaf but stepping across these stones to continue my journey.”

-emma cavanaugh

One thought on “Stepping Stones

Leave a Reply

